AFS Australia Board of Directors


Henry Moser

Board Chair


Reg Smith

Board Member


Ruth Pearce

Board Member


Rebecca Hall

Board Member


David Wilmoth

Board Member


Peter Braithwaite

Board member


John Shuey

Advisor to the Board

Board of Trustees

The AFS International Board of Trustees, a diverse group representing over a dozen countries, works in conjunction with our Partners and volunteers worldwide to realize our goal of providing the world’s youth with secure avenues of intercultural exchange.

Christian Werle

Vienna, Austria
Founding Partner
ConnexxionS Ltd.


Dr. Vishaka N. Desai

New York, USA
Senior Advisor for Global Affairs to the President of Columbia University, Senior Research Scholar at the School of International and Public Affairs, President Emerita of the Asia Society


J. Brian Atwood

Massachusetts, USA
Senior Fellow at the Watson Institute, Brown University, Former Dean & Chair of Global Studies at the University of Minnesota’s Hubert H. Humphrey School of Public Affairs and Professor Emeritus. Non-resident Fellow at the Brookings Institution


Maureen Erasmus

London, United Kingdom
Advisory Partner, Bain & Company


Amalie Ferdinand

Copenhagen, Denmark
Consultant, Federation of Public Workers Union


Elisabeth Hardt

Brussels, Belgium and Italy
Freelance Consultant


Ernesto Rey Moreno

Bogotá, Colombia
Founder & CEO, Empresas REYMORENO


Dr. Vincenzo Morlini

New York, USA (ex officio) 
President and Chief Executive Officer, AFS Intercultural Programs, Inc.


Dede Huang

Hong Kong, S.A.R.
Director of Development, Chinese International School


Marco Magnani

Massachusetts, USA and Milano, Italy
Senior Research Fellow at Harvard University John F. Kennedy School of Government


William (Bill) Meserve

Massachusetts, USA
Retired Partner, Ropes & Gray LLP


Don Mohanlal

New York & Maryland, USA
President & Chief Executive Officer, The Synergos Institute. Vice Chair, Nand & Jeet Khemka Foundation, New Delhi, India


Reg Smith

Melbourne, Australia
Business Consultant, ER Solutions Pty Ltd


Ragnar Thorvardarson

Reykjavik, Iceland
Specialist at Directorate for International and Security Affairs, Ministry for Foreign Affairs of Iceland

AFS Educational Advisory Council

Melissa Liles (Chair), New York, USA Chief Education Officer, AFS Intercultural Programs

Milton J. Bennett, Ph.D. Oregon, USA and Milan, Italy Executive Director, The Intercultural Development Research Institute

Prof. Dr. Jürgen Bolten, Jena, Germany Professor of Intercultural Business Communication, Universität Jena

Dr. Darla Deardorff, North Carolina, USA Executive Director Association of International Education Administrators and Research Scholar Program in Education, Duke University

Dr. Gunther Dietz, Veracruz, Mexico Secretary General, International Association for Intercultural Education (IAIE) and Director & Research Professor in Intercultural Education Universidad Veracruzana, Instituto de Investigaciones en Educación


Bruce La Brack, Ph.D., California, USA Professor Emeritus of Anthropology and International Studies, School of International Studies, University of the Pacific

Dr. Roberto Ruffino, Colle di val d’Elsa, Italy Secretary General, Fondazione Intercultura

Kumiko Torikai, Ph.D., Tokyo, Japan Professor, Graduate School of Intercultural Communication, Rikkyo University

Michael (Mick) Vande Berg, Ph.D., Maine, USA Principal, MVB Associates

Professor Nagesh Rao, Ahmedabad, India President & Director, MICA Institute of Strategic Marketing and Communication

Mitchell R. Hammer (Special Advisor), Ph.D. Maryland, USA President, IDI, LLC and Hammer Consulting, LLC